A Letter to My Son

Here’s something I wrote over seven years ago:

Thursday, May 8, 2008, 10:38pm

After lying in bed for awhile talking to God, I finally decided to get up to write a letter to my son, Solomon. This letter is to anyone. I love you all so much, and I desire this for you! Please read this and place your name after the dear. I want everyone to hear this! If you read this and would like to talk more about the letter, please let me know. I would LOVE to talk to you! My heart aches for those of you who don’t have a personal relationship with Jesus Christ, or those of you who do but are struggling. And by that I don’t mean merely professing to be a Christian. I mean a REAL relationship with Him. Even if you don’t know me very well but want to talk more about this letter, please contact me! I won’t think it’s weird at all. – I’ll be very happy to hear from you! Once again, I love you all, and if even one person gains something from this letter, I will be thrilled I decided to post this.

Dear Solomon,
I bought this journal weeks ago for the purpose of holding my thoughts for you. I have thought every day about writing a letter to you, but I haven’t yet known what to write. Tonight I decided what my first letter would say.

I was lying in bed talking to God and dreaming about all the things I would like to do for Him. I asked the Lord to show me a way I could serve Him and bring others to the saving knowledge of Jesus Christ. My heart aches to be able to minister to others and to bring lost souls to Christ, but at this point I don’t really know where I should serve. My memories jumped back to a few years ago when I was leading a cell group in our gameroom. That was such a wonderful fulfilling experience. I started the group with one other girl. Within a few months I had between thirteen and fifteen girls coming to my home every Sunday to hear about God’s Word and to receive teaching, encouragement, accountability, and love. Some of the girls were strong Christians, and others didn’t even know the Lord. How wonderful this was! I saw many lives changed in the year or two in which I did this. Oh, how I miss those days! I found myself praying for days like those to come again. I desire so much to tell others of Jesus Christ and show them how to walk in His ways and what it means to put their faith in Him.

Then I began thinking of you. I cannot wait until you are old enough for me to tell you about Jesus. I read the Bible to you regularly, but I doubt you understand yet. You enjoy it though. We’ve been reading from the book of John. I know I will feel so fulfilled and confident that I am glorifying God when I am teaching my children about Him and how to glorify Him daily. Right now all I can do with you is care for your basic needs, which although they aren’t many, they are certainly time-consuming and exhausting.

I prayed, “Lord, please let me be able to teach Solomon about You and train him up in Your ways.” Then I thought, what if something were to happen to me? If God allows me to bring you up and train you, I feel very confident that you will know what/Who is most important in my life and my extreme desire that He be most important in yours as well. But, if I am not here to take care of you and to teach you, I want you to have no doubt what I most desire for you.

Solomon, I want you to know that there is NOTHING more important than God. There never was, and there never will be. There will be times in your life when you are tempted to stray from Him or question Him. I assure you, my son, it is not worth it. He is the Lord of the Universe, the King of Kings, Lord of Lords, and Creator of ALL things. Life will be tough no matter what – whether you are a believer in Christ or not. But, if you put your faith in Jesus Christ, you have a Lord and Protector who will bring you peace and understanding. The Word says that if you desire wisdom, all you have to do is ask for it, and He will give it. We do not have because we do not ask, and when we ask we do not receive because we don’t believe. Please believe, Solomon! Jesus loves you and promises that all things work together for the good of those who love Him and are called according to His purpose. Sometimes it is difficult to understand why certain things happen, but if you keep in mind that God loves you and is working out ALL things for good, peace will come.

Read and study the Bible every day. King David hid God’s word in his heart so as not to sin against Him. You must do the same. Hide the Word of God in your heart. Memorize Scripture. Saturate yourself in His Word. Not only will it bring peace and understanding, it will help you know the heart of God so you can determine His will for your life. God’s Word has helped me remain steadfast through many trials. I have His Word hidden in my heart, and I rely on it every day. Read it and believe it. Don’t question God. Let the Bible be your daily bread. Depend on it as you do food. You need His Word to nourish your soul just as your body needs food to in order to be nourished.

Pray often. Never let your lines of communication with God become severed. Make Him your number one priority. Family is wonderful, friends are great, but God should always remain first in your heart. He is a jealous God (for good reason!) and does not take lightly being placed on the back burner.

Be selfless. The Bible says you’re not to think of yourself more highly than you ought but you are to think of others as better than yourself. Place others first, not yourself. It’s easy to get all worked up when things don’t go your way, but just shake it off and move on. Don’t focus so much on yourself. The more you try to meet others’ needs, the more your needs will be met. Be constantly looking for ways you can serve. Even if the only thing you see at the time is a floor that needs to be swept, sweep it. Don’t just look for the showy jobs that others will notice. Look for the need. And don’t announce your service. Just do it, thank God for the opportunity to serve, and move on.

The last thing I’m going to talk about in this letter is pride. Stay away from it. Proverbs says “Pride comes before the fall.” Don’t let yourself dwell on how great you are. Anytime this sort of thinking begins to seep in, redirect it toward God and how great He is. He created you after all, and you would be nothing if it weren’t for His hand in your life. Be thankful for everything, not prideful.

Oh, my, I have so much more to say. God-willing there will be many more letters to come. I love you so much Solomon! You are such a joy to our lives. I pray that you will listen to my words and take them to heart. My biggest desire for you is that you place your faith in Jesus Christ as soon as possible and live your life to glorify him.

I love you!
~Mom~

 

Leave a Reply

