Preston

July 18, 2015

July 18, 2007

Thinking about my brother today. Preston was 16 months older than me, my best friend. When we were kids people often mistook us for twins. In high school many thought we were dating or married. Preston led me on many amazing adventures I never would have journeyed on myself. He taught me how to wear make-up, kept the boys away, and was a rock through those difficult teenage years. Preston left us tragically 8 years ago when a driver ran a red light.
Kayak1

One of my last fond memories of Preston came weeks before his accident. I was glued to the couch, miserable with morning sickness about 6 weeks into my first pregnancy. Preston popped in eager to go kayaking with me.

“No way!” I proclaimed! I am so sick!”

“Oh, come on! It will make you feel better!” He argued in typical Preston fashion.

“Um, no. You don’t know what it’s like to be pregnant!”

“Pleeeaase come with me! It will get your mind off being sick.”

kayak3Somehow he pried me off that couch and motivated me to come with him. Next thing I knew, Preston and I were making the half mile (?) trek to the lake, each with a kayak over our heads. It was a glorious evening. We kayaked until the sun set, then made that dark trek home again. And you know what? He was right. It did make me feel better. He was always right about stuff like that.

There will always be an ache in my heart for that relationship lost. As a teenager, when I had something on my mind, I would often approach Preston, casually engage him in conversation, and hem and haw around what was really on my mind. He knew me too well. Preston would smile knowingly, and with a sparkle in his eye say, “Step into my office.” We would sit on his bed chatting, often for hours on end. Oh how I miss those talks.

kayak2I happened upon something I shared December 27, 2006. It reminds me of our many conversations:

Preston (my brother) made some really good blog posts on his myspace that I wanted to share with more people. They really touched me.. I hope they do the same for you…

Monday, December 25, 2006
Don’t Think Like the World

“For the weapons of our warfare are not carnal, but mighty through God to the pulling down of strong holds; Casting down imaginations, and every high thing that exalteth itself against the knowledge of God, and bringing into captivity every thought to the obedience of Christ.”
-(2 Corinthians 10:4-5)

If you think like the world thinks, eventually you will act like the world acts. Unrestrained thoughts produce unrestrained actions. So control your thoughts by bringing them into obedience to the Scriptures.

Program your mind with the Word of God. The Word is spirit and it is life. When your mind is totally saturated with the Word of God, your will becomes strong to exercise authority to overcome every ungodly thought and evil habit.

Don’t let Satan deceive you into sacrificing the glory of God in your life for a few moments of self-indulgence and sin. Restrain your thought life. Meditate the Word instead of selfish, carnal thoughts. Keep your eyes on Jesus, the Author and Finisher of your faith.

Psalm 119:11-18
kayak4“Your word I have treasured in my heart, That I may not sin against You.
Blessed are You, O Lord; Teach me Your statutes.
With my lips I have told of All the ordinances of Your mouth
I have rejoiced in the way of Your testimonies, As much as in all riches.
I will meditate on Your precepts And regard Your ways.
I shall delight in Your statutes; I shall not forget Your word.
Deal bountifully with Your servant, That I may live and keep Your word.
Open my eyes, that I may behold Wonderful things from Your law.

Tuesday, December 26, 2006
To All Christians :

Never Lose Hope!

Never Give In!

Never Give Up!

Never Surrender!

 

One thought on “Preston

  1. I know you1don’t remember me, but your father taught me in the fifth and sixth grade. You and Preston often came by or substituted. The entirety of your family had left such a large impact on that period in my life, taught me how to handle grief and cherish fond memories. I wanted to let you know. A

Leave a Reply

