Menu: October 18th – October 31st

Menu Plan

October 18th – October 31st

Sunday

  • Chia Pudding
    • I make individual “puddings” for everyone the night before in pint jars. I add about 1/2 cup frozen blueberries, a Tbsp of chia seeds, cover with milk, shake, and store in fridge overnight. I used to make it with honey, but now I only occasionally add the honey. The kids ask for it every day. It’s a great make-ahead breakfast that the kids can get on their own as they wake up.

Monday

  • Porridge
  • Beans & Rice / Quinoa
    • (Leftovers) I made a big pot of mixed beans on Saturday. My family’s love for modest “beans & rice” will never cease to amaze me! This is touted as a plain meal of deprivation, and that’s exactly why I initially started cooking beans some years back when we were rich on nothing but love. But rather than being a poor man’s miserable meal, my family adores it! Beans and rice is one of the most requested meals in this house!
      • I use this process to soak & cook my beans. With plenty of pink salt, the flavor and texture are great! My favorite beans are pinto beans as well as mixed “soup blends.” To serve: In a bowl add some cooked rice or quinoa, ladle the beans and juice over the rice, and enjoy!

Tuesday

  • Eggs & Asparagus: Saute onions, garlic, and mushrooms, & asparagus in coconut oil or chicken fat gleaned from homemade chicken stock. Add salt and pepper. Fry a couple of eggs and serve atop the veggies.

Wednesday

  • Porridge

Thursday

  • Southwestern Eggs: Saute Mushrooms, Onion, Garlic. Add Salsa. Add eggs. Scramble. Throw a ton of spinach on top. Cover and let wilt. Stir together and salt to taste.

Friday

Saturday


Sunday

  • Pizza (Crust+ Spinach, Mushrooms, Zucchini, Onions, Tomatoes…)
    • Salad

Monday

  • Eggs & Asparagus: Saute onions, garlic, and mushrooms, & asparagus. Fry a couple of eggs and serve atop the veggies.
  • Salad – Greens, carrots, tomatoes, apple, feta, chicken; homemade dressing

Tuesday

  • Banana Pancakes
    • Turkey

Wednesday

Thursday

  • Porridge

Friday

  • Banana Pancakes

Saturday

  • Fish Chowder – This is just a simple vegetable soup with some salmon or other fish thrown in, herbs and salt to season, and a can of coconut milk stirred in at the end. My kids generally do not like fish, but we all love this!

I will also likely be trying this granola recipe. We try to go light on grains, and when I do cook with grains I prefer to properly prepare them by soaking or sprouting. However, sometimes I just don’t have energy or desire to do that. I’ve been buying granola for Joel the past few weeks, which I don’t like, but I’ve been busy and just didn’t feel like putting more effort into that area. But now I’m ready to give a little more effort. While this granola recipe is not soaked, it’s a step closer to being cleaner and healthier for Joel’s body. Baby steps.

Leave a Reply

