Lunch Salad

Last week I pulled together a fantastic lunch salad worth sharing! It has been my lunch every day since then, and I am loving it! This recipe makes about three big, meal-size servings, and it certainly is not in exact measurements. I’m sure it will be very forgiving though.

Lunch Salad

For the salad:

–  1 head of iceberg lettuce
–  2 handfuls of arugula
–  2 carrots, grated
–  1 tomato
–  Any other salad ingredients you enjoy: bell pepper, celery, onion, etc.

Dressing:

Mix about 1 cup of plain yogurt with about 1/4 c. salsa, some garlic, a few sprinkles of dried cilantro (or fresh if you have it!), and a few sprigs of fresh basil and thyme.

This dressing can be used liberally because it is so nutritious!

I harvested lots of herbs (basil, thyme, and mint) from my back porch, so I was looking for a way to utilize some in my lunch. The yogurt/herb mixture is soooo good! I don’t know about you, but I was kind of stuck in a rut with yogurt. Although it’s super healthy (if you buy plain organic – not so healthy if you buy the kind flavored with all sorts of sugars and alien ingredients.) I have never been much of a yogurt eater because I always view it as a sweet treat. I try to stay away from sweets as much as possible, but when I do have a sweet tooth, there are many other dishes I prefer to yogurt. So, as much as I have wanted to include yogurt more into my diet, I just haven’t.

My Delicious Herbs

Today at lunch, though, as I was viewing my food options and thinking herbs, I thought, why not? Let’s turn this plain yogurt into a ranch-style dressing instead of a sweet treat! It was amazing! Definitely something I could get used to. It made my salad so much more exciting, and I did not feel the slightest bit of guilt over eating my salad. 100% goodness!

Next week I’ll have Joel buy some extra milk at the dairy so I can make my own yogurt. I hear it’s not very difficult and definitely cheaper than buying store-bought, but I just haven’t attempted this yet since I knew I wouldn’t get much use out of it. We have been using plain yogurt instead of sour cream for a couple of months now. (You really can’t taste the difference, and it’s so much more nutritious!) And now with this new salad dressing idea, I foresee much more yogurt in the future….

Leave a Reply

