Simple Hummus/Juice Storage/Cold Remedy

This recipe is plain and simple and incredibly nutritious. I love recipes with minimal ingredients that are bursting with flavor. Little work, great rewards – that’s the way I like it!

2 cups chickpeas (or one 8oz can)
2 garlic cloves, coarsely crushed
6 Tbsp lemon juice
4 Tbsp tahini or natural peanut butter
5 Tbsp olive oil
1 tsp ground cumin

Blend all together in food processor or blender. If mixture is too thick add some of the juice from the chickpeas.

This is a great base recipe, but in all honesty, my hummus is never simply this. My style of cooking is to merely use recipes as a guide. When making hummus I generally add a lot more chickpeas to the mixture. I have also been known to add ground cayenne pepper.

Tip: I do not use store-bought lemon juice because of the preservatives. I also do not use freshly-squeezed. Lemon juice is one of those things that you don’t generally need much of, and I have had a problem with lemons going bad in the past because I just can’t use them quickly enough. Or, to prevent them from going bad I’ll use them up immediately, but then a few days later I don’t have lemon juice for a recipe I want to cook and have to go out and buy some more. It was a never-ending cycle for quite some time until I discovered a solution.

Buy lemons when they’re on sale! Yay! But, instead of trying to use them before they go bad, squeeze them all soon after you bring them home. Freeze 1 Tbsp portions in ice cube trays. After the juice is frozen, store the lemon juice cubes in a labeled freezer bag. Now when your recipe calls for 1 Tbsp lemon juice you don’t have to worry about the preservatives in store-bought products or the added prep time/mess juicing a lemon creates. You can just grab a cube from the freezer.

Another note on freezing juice. We don’t often drink juice. Most juice is from concentrate or has all kinds of added sugars and preservatives. It’s always better to eat the fruit whole anyway. The truly good juice is generally very expensive, so when we do buy it we try to make it last. I do like to by good, wholesome organic apple juice for when we get colds. This I warm up and mix with kudzu as an effective natural remedy. So, I buy wholesome apple juice (preferably on sale) and freeze it in ice cube trays. Then I store the juice cubes in freezer containers. When one of us comes down with a cold I just pull out some cubes and warm it up with the kudzu starch. (Adults: Mix 2 Tbsp kudzu with 1 cup cold water or apple juice. Warm up 1 cup apple juice and mix together. Kids: 2 tsp kudzu in 1 cup juice. Heat up 1 cup water. Mix together and serve.)

Storing juice in the freezer like this extends the shelf life to months as opposed to a week or so after opening if you just store it in the refrigerator.

Leave a Reply

